## Taeghwan Hyeon

SNU Distinguished Professor, School of Chemical and Biological Engineering, Seoul National University Director, Center for Nanoparticle Research Institute for Basic Science (IBS) E-mail: thyeon@snu.ac.kr Website: https://nanomat.snu.ac.kr/



Taeghwan Hyeon is an SNU Distinguished Professor at Seoul National University (SNU) and the Director of Center for Nanoparticle Research of Institute for Basic Science (IBS). He earned his B.S. (1987) and M.S. (1989) in Chemistry from Seoul National University, and Ph.D. in Chemistry from the University of Illinois Urbana-Champaigne in 1996. He is recognized for his outstanding contributions in scalable synthesis of uniform nanoparticles, and pioneering research in designed synthesis of inorganic nanomaterials for biomedical, energy, and softelectronic-device applications. Especially, the "heat-up process" has become a standard protocol to produce uniform-sized nanoparticles and has been popularly used not only by academic laboratories but also in industry to produce large-quantity of uniform nanoparticles. He was listed in Top 100 Chemists in 2011 and Highly Cited Researcher from 2014 to 2023 in both chemistry and materials science. He was chosen as 2020 Citation Laureate in Chemistry along with 2023 Nobel Laureate, Moungi Bawendi. He received four major Korean science and technology awards including 2022 Grand Prize of National Academy of Engineering of Korea, 2016 Presidential Award for Korea's Best Scientist, 2012 Samsung Hoam Prize, and 2008 POSCO-T.J. Park Award. He also received 2016 IUVSTA Prize for Technology at International Vacuum Congress and delivered Kavli Foundation Frontiers of Materials Research Lecture during 2023 MRS Spring Meeting. He is an elected Fellow/Member of Korean Academy of Science and Technology (KAST), National Academy of Engineering of Korea (NAEK), National Academy of Engineering (NAE, US), Swedish Royal Academy of Engineering Sciences (IVA), Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC), and Materials Research Society (MRS). From 2010 to 2020, he served as an Associate Editor of J. Am. Chem. Soc. He is the editorial advisory board member of ACS Central Science, Advanced Materials, Nano Today, and Small.