Hui Ying Yang

Professor in the Pillar of Engineering Product Development at Singapore University of Technology and Design Email: yanghuiying@sutd.edu.sg Website: https://people.sutd.edu.sg/~yanghuiying/



Hui Ying Yang is a professor of Engineering Product Development in Singapore University of Technology and Design (SUTD). She received his B.S. degree (Honours) from Nankai University, China, in 2002, and PhD degree from the Nanyang Technological University in 2007. She received her postdoctoral fellow training under the support of Singapore Millennium Foundation and Lee Kuan Yew Fellowship, respectively. She joined SUTD as an assistant professor in the pillar of Engineering Product Development (EPD) in 2010. She was promoted to Associate Professor with tenure in 2016, and Full Professor in 2022. She leads the SUTD's Energy and Environmental Sustainability Laboratory and works in the field of advanced materials science, such as function engineering and chemical doping in low dimensional nanomaterials, for a variety of high-efficient devices and technologies with applications in sustainable energy and environment.

Prof. Yang's work has had great impact in the fundamental research of the material science, chemistry/ electrochemistry and desalination. She has profound knowledge and experience on the synthesis and engineering of well-defined nanostructured materials for energy storage applications. She is an elected Fellow of the ASEAN Academy of Engineering and Technology (AAET) and Fellow of the Royal Chemistry Society (RCS). Up to date, Prof. Yang has published over 400 articles, 3 book chapters, and holds more than 10 international patents. Prof. Yang's achievement in research and innovation have been recognized internationally and nationally with many awards, such as ACS Nano Impact award, SNIC-AsCA2019 Distinguished Women Chemist Award (2023), IPS Nanotechnology Medal (Outstanding Nanotechnology Physics Research) (2018), Nanonica Prize (2014), Outstanding Young Manufacturing Engineer Award (2014), MCCC-AAET Green Award (2013), Tan Kah Kee Young Inventors Award (2013), Lee Kuan Yew Fellowship (2008) and L'Oreal Singapore for Women in Science national Fellowship (2010) and many more.